From its start in 1903, the National Wildlife Refuge System has owed its very existence to concerned citizens eager to protect America’s natural resources. Today, Friends organizations serve a crucial role to the collective mission of the Refuge System and in conserving and protecting land and wildlife of this great nation. They are also essential to motivating a new generation of conservationists and helping millions of Americans understand that their actions today determine the legacy we leave for tomorrow.

The Friends of Attwater Prairie Chicken Refuge is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization. We support the Attwater Prairie Chicken National Wildlife Refuge (Refuge) in a variety of ways including, but not limited, to providing outreach and education programs, supporting Refuge operating activities, fundraising for recovery efforts and projects, advocating for Attwater prairie-chicken (APC) recovery and prairie conservation/restoration, maintaining and growing membership, sponsoring annual festivals and events, and conducting tours.

Mission Statement:

Our mission is to support the purpose and objectives of Attwater Prairie Chicken NWR and promote the recovery of the Attwater’s prairie-chicken and the Texas native coastal prairie ecosystem for this and future generations.

Board of Directors:

Sumita Prasad – President (832.453.4374)
Scott Forbes- Vice President
Eliot Tucker – Secretary
Jane Meldahl – Treasurer
Diana Kies
Kristina Meyer
Terry Rossignol
Joe Sherfy

Board of Advisors

Bill Cain
Gary Clark
Victor Emanuel
Mavis Kelsey
John Magera (Scientific Advisor)
Mike Morrow (Scientific Advisor)
Gary Stephens (Scientific Advisor)
David Todd

For more information:
Friends of Attwater Prairie Chicken Refuge
P.O. Box 212
Eagle Lake, Texas 77434